October 13-18, 2017

October 13-18, 2017

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Everett Hanel, Jr. Presidential Award 2017-02-20T16:16:08+00:00
Everett Hanel, Jr.

Everett Hanel, Jr.

Everett Hanel, Jr. was a member of Dr. Wedum’s safety group at Fort Detrick from 1943-1972. Following his tenure there, he became the Director of the Health & Safety group at the National Cancer Institute in Frederick, MD. His efforts were central in the development and perpetuation of the Biological Safety Conference and the organization we know as ABSA. In 1983 Everett was chosen to be the first President of the American Biological Safety Association. In recognition of his significant contribution to this organization throughout his lifetime career in biosafety, the Everett Hanel, Jr. Presidential Award was established in 1993.

The Everett Hanel, Jr. Presidential Award is given to a current ABSA member for outstanding contributions to the American Biological Safety Association by promoting the field of biological safety and fostering, by example, the high professional standards of the Association’s membership.

2016hanelbpetuch2016 Recipient: Brian Petuch, RBP, CBSP, Merck & Co. Inc

In recognition of his outstanding contributions, this year’s recipient is Brian Petuch. Brian serves as the corporate Biological Safety Officer for Merck. He is a Certified Biological Safety Professional as well as a Registered Biosafety Professional. Brian has presented and shared his research, his knowledge, and his experience for almost 3 decades at various meetings and symposiums to include the Society for Industrial Microbiology, American Chemical Society, American Society for Microbiology, American Industrial Hygiene Association, New Jersey American Industrial Hygiene Association, New Jersey American Society of Safety Engineers, New Jersey Emergency Preparedness Association, Annual Decon/WMD Symposium, CDC National Symposium on Biosafety, Mid-Atlantic Biological Safety Association, as well as ABSA International.

Brian currently serves as the Chief of the Burlington County HazMat Team, Burlington County Office of Emergency Management, in Burlington County, NJ. Burlington County is the largest county in the State of New Jersey and covers almost 900 square miles. In this capacity he provides on-scene risk assessment for team members during chemical, biological and radiological incidents; researches and implements rapid detection technology for chemical and biological threat assessment; and implements decontamination SOPs for toxins and microbial agents. Brian works with FBI and County Prosecutor to implement evidence collection capability for chemical, biological and radiological samples and is a member of County Counterterrorism Task Force, Bioterrorism Response Team.

Brian has a background as a research scientist, a fermentation microbiologist, and a vaccine technology engineer and has published his work on several occasions. Brian currently serves both ABSA International and the Mid-Atlantic Biological Safety Association in a number of capacities. He is very active on the BIOSFTY listserv and is always willing to provide assistance passing on whole documents, Standard Operating Procedures, relevant publications, and his experiences on to anyone who is in need. This willingness to share shows his dedication to the field of Biosafety.

Past Recipients

2015 – Robert Ellis, PhD, CBSP, RBP, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
2014 – Dr. Raymond Hackney, DrPH, CBSP, Duke University, Durham, NC
2013 – Thomas P. Boyle, RBP, Rowan University, Stratford, NJ
2012 – Murray Cohen, PhD, CIH, Frontline Foundation, Atlanta, GA
2011 – Barbara Johnson, PhD, RBP, Biosafety Biosecurity International, Herndon, VA
2010 – Joe Kanabrocki, PhD, CBSP, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL
2009 – Joseph Kozlovac, RBP, CBSP, USDA ARS, Beltsville, MD
2008 – Robert J. Hashimoto, CBSP, University of California, Berkeley, CA
2007 – Daniel F. Liberman, PhD, Novartis, Cambridge, MA
2006 – Richard Rebar, RBP, CBSP, GlaxoSmithKline, King of Prussia, PA
2005 – Dr. Robert J. Hawley, PhD, RBP, CBSP, Midwest Research Institute, Frederick, MD
2003 – LouAnn Burnett, CBSP, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
2002 – Joseph Van Houten, PhD, RBP, CBSP, Johnson & Johnson World Headquarters, New Brunswick, NJ
2001 – Karen Brandt Byers, RBP, CBSP, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
2000 – Stefan Wagener, PhD, RBP, CBSP, Public Health Agency of Canada, Winnipeg, MB Canada
1999 – Gerard J. Spahn, PhD, CBSP, Carlsbad, Ca
1998 – Mary L. Cipriano, RBP, CBSP, Abbott Laboratories, Abbott Park, IL
1997 – Mary Ann Sondrini, The Eagleson Institute, Sanford, ME
1996 – A. Lynn Harding, MPH, CBSP, Chattanooga, TN
1995 – Jonathan Y. Richmond, PhD, RBP, Jonathan Richmond & Associates, Southport, NC
1994 – Diane O. Fleming, PhD, RBP, CBSP, Bowie, MD
1993 – Jerry J. Tulis, PhD, Raleigh NC
1992 – Max D. Peters
1991 – John M. Eagleson, Jr.
1990 – Donald Vesley, Columbia Heights, MD
1989 – Manuel S. Barbeito, CBSP, Frederick, MD
1988 – Jerome P. Schmidt, PhD, CBSP, San Antonio, TX
1987 – W. Emmett Barkley, PhD, Bethesda, MD
1986 – Joseph R. Songer, Ames, IA
1985 – Everett Hanel, Jr., National Cancer Institute, Frederick, MD