October 13-18, 2017

October 13-18, 2017

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Scientific Program Abstracts | Poster Abstracts
(Abstracts are on locked PDF documents. Passwords will be distributed by the ABSA office.)

Presentations available for downloading where indicated.

Videos are available for purchase where indicated.

Wednesday Scientific Program

October 18, 2017


7 am  -  5 pm

The Registration Desk will be open Friday through Wednesday from 7:00 am – 5:00 pm.

More information on 'Registration'

Wednesday Morning

8:10 am  -  8:20 am

8:10 – 8:15 am Welcome Master of Ceremonies: President-Elect: TBD 8:15 – 8:20 am ABSA International Historical Address (PDF, 465KB) John Balog, RBP

More information on 'Wednesday Morning'

Session XIV: Invited Speaker

8:20 am  -  9:20 am

8:20 – 9:20 am Introduction: Claudia Gentry-Weeks, PhD, CBSP, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO Who’s Behind the Wheel? CRISPR, Gene Drives and Where We’re Going (PDF, 6.9MB) James Carney, PhD, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM

More information on 'Session XIV: Invited Speaker'

Coffee Break

9:20 am  -  9:50 am

Session XV: Richard Knudsen Award

9:50 am  -  10:20 am

Introduction: Janet Peterson, CBSP, Ellicott City, MD Shedding Risk With Intracerebral Inoculation of Theiler’s Murine Encephalomyelitis Virus: Informing A Risk Assessment (PDF, 2.7MB) Pawlowski, David, RBP

More information on 'Session XV: Richard Knudsen Award'

Session XVI: Human Gene Transfer

10:20 am  -  11:30 am

Moderator: Jacqueline Wagner, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 10:20 – 10:35 am Development of Resources for Human Gene Transfer (HGT) Clinical Trials in Response to 2016 NIH Guidelines Revision (PDF, 7.8MB) Andrew Maksymowych, PhD, RBP, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA 10:35 […]

More information on 'Session XVI: Human Gene Transfer'

Honor Awards and Special Recognition Luncheon

11:35 am  -  1:30 pm

Presenter: Maureen O’Leary, PhD, CBSP, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH Arnold G. Wedum Distinguished Achievement Award Everett J. Hanel, Jr. Presidential Award John H. Richardson Special Recognition Award International and National Poster Awards Hashimoto Service Award  Recognition of Certified Biosafety Professionals […]

More information on 'Honor Awards and Special Recognition Luncheon'

Session XVII: Facility Biosafety

2 pm  -  3 pm

Moderator: Darlene Ward, RBP, Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, FL 2:00 – 2:20 pm Keep It Simple—BSL-3 Laboratory Ventilation Systems (PDF, 271KB) Daniel Cook, Cornerstone Commissioning, Boxford, MA 2:20 – 2:40 pm Decontamination with Cold Plasma Activated Ionized Hydrogen Peroxide: […]

More information on 'Session XVII: Facility Biosafety'

Session XVIII: Biosafety Promotion and Development

4 pm  -  5 pm

Moderator: Kelly Flint, RBP, CBSP, SM(NRCM), National Institutes of Health, Fort Detrick, MD 4:00 – 4:20 pm Building a User-friendly Biosafety Program from Scratch (PDF, 3.2MB) Ray Scheetz, MS, RBP, Penn State University College of Medicine, Hershey, PA 4:20 – […]

More information on 'Session XVIII: Biosafety Promotion and Development'

Close of Conference

5 pm

Master of Ceremonies President-Elect: TBD

More information on 'Close of Conference'